Uncategorized

I Love Denim

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

I recently joined The Monthly Stitch, an international group of sewists who take on a different challenge each month as a sew along. And this month it is Denim Never Dies. I was quite happy with that challenge as I wanted to make a denim dress for work ,even though we are not suppose to wear denim ;).

Fortunately, I had this denim fabric with cute hearts on it in my stash for a good 10 years that I could finally use. For some odd reason I had seven yards of this fabric and I don’t remember what I had planned for it. But now I have a plan for it.  A dress!  However, deciding what dress to make took longer than sewing the whole dress. I finally decided on Vogue 8992.

ILoveDenim2

It is an easy lined princess seamed dress with pockets with only 5 pattern pieces .I needed interfacing and wanted a different lining than usual, so it gave me and my sisterfriend an excuse to go fabric shopping at Mood Fabrics last weekend. I did good, I only brought a blue plaid cotton which blended well with the denim and sew-in interfacing. Thats it! Though I took swatches for my next challenge of February.

It took only one day to make. This is what I was doing on the snow day, Tuesday, here in New York, when I couldn’t get to work, It really was an easy make. The only time I used the sew ripper was when I sewed the back neck edge to the collar on the lining. I decided to be lazy and not baste like I did on the main part. Not a good idea, especially when you had to pivot at the shoulders.Denim5

All in all, I love my denim dress.GE DIGITAL CAMERA

ILoveDenim1

9 thoughts on “I Love Denim

Leave a Reply

