Uncategorized

Peacock Feather Odette Dress

Green Peacock Feather Odette Dress
Green Peacock Feather Odette Dress

Greetings! I know it has been awhile but it took some bribing to get someone to take pictures for me. Hopefully I will catch up in blogging all my creations I have done in the past months.

So I am starting off with my Peacock Feather Odette dress by Bluegingerdoll Patterns. I received this pattern in the IPM2015 Indie Pattern Swap last month June as part of the challenges of the Monthly Stitch. It was a way to get introduced to “new-to-me” independent pattern makers( thus Indie Patterns). Even though I have been sewing for over 40 years, most all Indie patterns are new basically new to me.So I was excited to see what someone else can picture me making and wearing. And I have to give a BIG THANK YOU to my swap partner for her great choice.

The Odette dress is described as ” a one of a kind dress for your wardrobe”. It has a fitted, fully lined bodice with a bateau V neckline and an optional insert, along with a waistband that defines the waistline and a seven gored skirt that skims the hips and pockets  It had the option of sleeveless, short-sleeved or 3/4 sleeves with cuffs.The sizing ranged from size 4 to 24.

.It was  easy enough to put together in one day. I think it took me longer to decide what fabric to use. Even though it says its for intermediate sewists, a beginner would be able to follow the instructions as they were very clear. The fabric is a cotton African wax print that I purchase at AKN Fabrics in NYC when my grandson and I went shopping for fabric for his graduation.

This is what GS chose for his vest.
This is what GS chose for his vest.            

We were going to have matching outfits but I decide to get something with a different design but the same color. Though I lined the bodice with Lil’ Master M’s fabric.Peacock14along with the pockets. I made the dress a size 16 bodice and graded the skirt to a size 20 in the hips just to make sure of the fit in the hips. I love how it fits!!!

Here are some of the pictures taken on Roosevelt Island, NYC:

This was in front of a ghost hospital.(The old Smallpox Hospital built in the 1800's)
This was in front of a ghost hospital.(The old Smallpox Hospital built in the 1800’s)
Smallpox Hospital--a historical landmark
Smallpox Hospital–a historical landmark 
BIrd of a feather flock together
BIrds of a feather flock together
GE DIGITAL CAMERA
The Back view

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

So again Thank you to my Indie pattern swap partner.

Sew until………

4 thoughts on “Peacock Feather Odette Dress

  1. The last photo is my favorite. Shows just how “twirly” this lovely dress is. I buy fabric from AKN via the Internet all the time — I can only imagine how wonderful it is in person!

    Like

Leave a Reply

