sewing

My Ebony Bag

Ah, yes! Yesterday, January 17th was my annibirthsary.  I am now in my “new fortieth” year and loving it. I have been married for 35 years and we are still trying to figure it out. As usual Mister had to work and for the first time in over 10 years I worked on my birthday. But after work, I went to a “paint and sip” party, which was soo much fun. A way to get your creative juices going. I will tell you about that at another time.

However, I had to make something for me, and it end up to be this handbag. The pattern for the bag was self-drafted, the fabric, lining, and notions used were from my stash of 20 some odd years and I had two days in the house with no one around, just me and my music. So this is the result:2016-01-17 08.01.52

I used a black jacquard upholstery fabric for the exterior and mudcloth for the contrast center trim, handle tabs and inside facing.

2016-01-17 08.04.49

I used burgundy red satin for the inside lining. It even has a pocket on the inside and a recessed zipper.

2016-01-17 08.05.01

2016-01-17 08.06.05

 

 

 

2016-01-17 07.54.41

2016-01-17 08.02.51

All in all, I am quite pleased with my gift to myself.

Sew until….Happy sewing!

P.S. One down, three more me-mades gifts to me to go.

 

2 thoughts on “My Ebony Bag

Leave a Reply

